top of page
Search

Self-expression in the 21st century



From the words of Marc Jacob himself, ‘clothing is a form of self-expression. There are hints about who you are in what you wear’.

I would say that this statement holds significant value, in the sense that embracing our individuality can be achieved through the style and fashion choices that we make daily. Even though it takes me what seems like a lifetime to decide what I want to wear when I wake up that morning, it is a carefully thought-out decision. The more confident I feel that day, the more adventurous I am likely to be with my outfit, whether that be mix and matching colours or even fabrics.

There have been multiple science-based and exploratory studies that have investigated the impact of personality and mood changes in relation to clothing choices. It turns out that mood is a strong predictor of how an individual chooses to dress. I know this to be true, as when I seem to be having an off day, I find myself reaching for my Urban Outfitter's green tracksuit.

I’d been pondering on this topic for a while now, especially since joining college and becoming exposed to the extraordinary range of fashion that is there. I’m not lying when I say the most exciting moment of my day is catching a glimpse of the variety of styles that walk into Sixth Form. So, I wanted to conduct a little research myself to see what other people think on this subject matter. So, I asked around and collected my responses to share with you all. Two simple questions were asked ‘Do you think fashion can be used as a tool of expression’ and ‘What item of clothing best describes you?' so without further or do, let’s begin…


 

Freya:


“I definitely agree that fashion can be used as a form of self-expression especially in the current social media profile-oriented society we’re living in, but there is so much constant judgement these days and trends simply shape the fashion industry so there is a lot of pressure to conform to what's ‘cool’. However, I would say that once people truly start embracing their own identity it's much easier to express yourself through your clothes”.

“I’d say my peachy den jumpsuit in bright pink describes me pretty well; colourful, bright, and loud. But also, not everyone's favourite thing because it very out there”

Ruby:


“I think clothing is one of the best ways to express yourself because it can change how you’re perceived by people. I'd like to think my clothes make me look fashionable, but also approachable and attractive. Fashion allows you to express opinions about the world, politically or socially which I think is important.”

Lola:


“I can experiment with different styles and colours which make me feel more confident. I would say that my Nascar jacket best describes me, as I feel confident when I wear it. It’s unique and a loud statement which stands out in a crowd”.

Jacob:


“I feel like I can express myself through the way I dress, and as an LGBTQ person, I think the way I dress reflects my inner self. I love dressing more feminine; I love being quite classy and I feel like that resonates through the clothes I wear. However, I do feel like expressing yourself through your clothes can be quite challenging because it is so blatantly obvious to everyone and can leave you quite exposed to judgement.”

“I think the item that associate with me is a crisp, airy, blue pinstripe linen shirt”.

Mary:


“I express myself through fashion by oversized graphic t-shirts/sweatshirts. If you asked any of friends what clothing item, they associate with me they would all name one of the many jumpers or T-shirt’s I have and wear very frequently. Comfort is key for me, and I love finding a new T-shirt or sweatshirt in a charity shop to pair with jeans or flares.”


 

So there you have it. Five different interpretations from individuals of what fashion means to them, in terms of expressing their individuality. The path to self discovery and the ability to dress how one wishes too, is a long and sometimes challenging process. What is important to remember is that you shouldn't waste time worrying about what other people think, or whether the way you dress is deemed 'appropriate' or 'normal'. We weren't born to act or look the same. So why dress the same as everyone else?


Be a little more adventurous next time. Maybe even put on that jacket that's been hidden away in the back of your wardrobe, the one you swore you'd never wear. Wear those green converse with your favourite purple trousers (because who cares about whether the colours 'match'). And so I once again quote Marc Jacob for the second time 'There are hints about who you are in what you wear’.



148 views

Recent Posts

See All

Vienna.

bottom of page