top of page
Search

World:1, Me:0


Who would have thought that this is how life would be like now. Even though we already had major obstacles to face like the polar ice caps melting and trying to get women equal pay, the world still didn't think it was messing with us enough. So to mess things up even more; why not throw a global pandemic into the mix.


Life in lockdown has been everything but ordinary. It hasn't been an easy experience in the slightest, in fact, it's been a journey of emotional rollercoasters. I know there are many people out there who have enjoyed this time: it's given them the chance to take a step back from their hectic lives and reflect on things they didn't think needed to be reflected on. They have used this time to improve relationships with others and most importantly themselves. But, you might not be that person, and that's fine as well. There are many others, like myself who have found this lockdown really tough. It's difficult for me to say this because normally I enjoy my own company. Like sitting down and binge-watching my favourite series for the 10th time (shout out to the creators of Killing Eve, great show! – Is it bad that I like Villanelle's character, even though she is insane?)

Anyway, back to the point. I'm finding that things I used to find entertaining are now just seeming irrelevant to me. It's taken me a while to grasp this concept, but it's normal for things to change. Sometimes things might not go to plan, but I'm here to tell you that they will get better.


It's the little things and annoyances of everyday life that I miss the most. Like the occasional stranger that bumps into you by 'accident' or the sweet aroma of freshly brewed coffee as you walk into Costa. That's what I miss the most. The little things I used to take for granted; like being able to hug someone or even say hello face to face. It's strange that before all of this happened, a hug was probably far down on the list of important things and priorities. Yet, when you've gone so long without social interaction and contact, you realise how significant a hug can be.


Its a strange and difficult time but it's important to remember it's only temporary. There's always someone to talk to if you're feeling down or alone, like a friend, family member, work colleague or teacher. Even sending the occasional text can make someone's day. If you're really bad at texting (like me) here are some ideas to get you started:


  1. Start by saying Hi (only two words and you've started a conversation, well done! Gold star)

  2. Ask them how their day was?

  3. Tell them a joke (extra brownie points if you attempt this one)


See it's not so bad after all.

At the start of quarantine, I found it hard to keep in contact with the people I care about. And part of me just wanted to shut myself away from the outside world as that was the easiest way to deal with the situation at hand. But I soon realised that shutting myself away wasn't the solution at all, instead, it was the problem. Now, speaking to family and friends has given me the push I need to keep on going.

So take each day at a time and face each challenge as it comes. Things will get better, it might just take its time.

If you feel like you can't reach out to someone close to you for support there are plenty more places you can turn to for support, such as:

  1. https://www.childline.org.uk

  2. https://www.kooth.com

  3. https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/stress-anxiety-depression/mental-health-helplines/


In the meantime, stay safe and stay well.

176 views

Recent Posts

See All

Vienna.

bottom of page